Ask a Realtor-Cost of Selling a home

Posted: December 4, 2013 in Sellers
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Buyers Sellers

Q: I’m thinking of selling my house and don’t want to do this myself as I understand the Value and Experience that a Realtor brings but I was wondering how much should I budget for the commission and taxes.

Answer from Dale: The commission paid on the sale of a property has 2 components. The listing agent that protects the sellers interest and invest a great deal of their money in the marketing of the property will be paid out of the proceeds of the sale. The other component is the co-operating broker who is representing the interest of the Buyer in the deal. The total commission could be as high as 6% although this does not happen as often anymore or as low as 4.5%. 

There are much more to know about selling a home. Check this out: Selling a Home? What You Should Know.

If you are thinking of selling now is a good time to get started: www.CambridgePropertyValues.com or www.KWPropertyValues.com

Comments are closed.